The objective of this competition is to develop closer ties across the European community of haiku creators (although haiku authors from other parts of the world are welcome to submit entries as well). Starting 2018 we are planning one competition yearly: EUROPEAN KUKAI (in 2013-2017 we organized 4 separate quarterly competitions in each year: EUROPEAN QUARTERLY KUKAI). The competition is led in cooperation with the Publishing House KONTEKST from Poznań.

Thursday, January 7, 2016

Short summary of first three years of EQK 2013-2015

TOP 10 of the EQK in 2013-2015 (according to points)

  1. Kashinath Karmakar, IND
  2. Arvinder Kaur, IND
  3. Roberta Beary, USA
  4. Simon Hanson, AUS
  5. Lavana Kray, ROM
  6. Rosa Clement, BRA
  7. Cezar F. Ciobica, ROM
  8. Sondra J. Byrnes, USA
  9. Marion Clarke, UK
10. Maria Kowal-Tomczak, POL

Authors who submitted haiku and voted in all editions 2013-2015:

Ferenc Bakos, HUN, 
Valeria Barouch, SUI, 
Goda V. Bendoraitiene, LIT, 
Brigitte ten Brik, GER
Ralf Broker, GER
Cezar F. Ciobica, ROM
Rosa Clement, BRA
Dainius Dirgela, LIT
James Dobson, UK
Marcell Domonkos, HUN
Nijole Kerusauskiene, LIT
Vitali Khomin, UKR
Lavana Kray, ROM
Natalia Kuznetsova, RUS
Andrius Luneckas, LIT
Minh-Triet Pham, FRA
Marija Pogorilic, CRO
Francesco de Sabata, ITA
Heinz Schneemann, GER
Barbara A. Taylor, AUS
Steliana Cristina Voicu, ROM

In all twelve editions, 473 authors from 59 countries submitted their haiku. Average number of participants in one edition: 166 authors from 38 countries,

Thank you very much, 
the EQK tream